Postbus in der Region

Regional regular bus services

Your mobility partner in rural areas!

ÖBB Postbus is the largest bus company in Austria. Our core business is regular regional transport. Every year, ÖBB Postbus takes 208 million passengers in Austria to their destination. The company also operates in areas where no other public transport connections are available. Approximately 70% of all Postbus passengers throughout Austria are schoolchildren who take the bus to school every day. The buses serve around 1,800 municipalities daily, providing public transport connections to even the remotest corners in Austria’s rural areas. Postbus is an essential pillar when it comes to public services in rural areas and has been a trustworthy partner to municipalities for many years.

Postbus: A strong partner in public transport

Regional public bus transport is our core business. On behalf of the local authorities - i.e. the transport associations and municipalities throughout Austria - we offer ideal solutions, from classic city buses to flexible call bus systems.

Since 2013, regional bus services have generally been put out to tender by the local authorities. They are the ones responsible when it comes to planning transport, ordering services and setting tariffs. The contract is awarded to the bus company with the best bid, the decisive factor here being not only the price, but also various quality criteria. ÖBB-Postbus takes part in these tenders and regularly impresses the associations thanks to our many years of experience, our comprehensive know-how and the high competence and reliability of our employees in the operation of regional bus routes.

Our plus:

  • many years of experience in passenger transport - Postbus has been on the road in Austria for more than 110 years
  • reliable in any terrain, from Lake Neusiedl to the snow-covered Alpine passes
  • highly qualified drivers, thanks to the ISO-certified Postbus training centre
  • modern and air-conditioned buses according to our clients’ specifications
  • driving innovation in the Austrian bus market
  • and much more.

Postbus is working for our customers all over Austria

ÖBB Postbus currently operates approximately 800 regular regional services in Austria. The buses gather passengers at about 21,200 stops throughout Austria. In more than one third of the municipalities served in Austria, Postbuses are the only means of public transport. Currently, ÖBB Postbus has a market share of about 45 % in regional bus services in Austria.

Postbus in der Region

Regionaler Buslinienverkehr

Der Mobilitätspartner im ländlichen Raum!

ÖBB Postbus ist das größte Busunternehmen in Österreich. Unser Kerngeschäft ist der regionale Linienverkehr. Jährlich bringt ÖBB-Postbus 208 Millionen Fahrgäste in Österreich an ihr Ziel. Er fährt auch überall dort, wo es sonst keine öffentliche Anbindung gibt. Rund 70% der Postbus-Fahrgäste in ganz Österreich sind Schülerinnen und Schüler, die ihren täglichen Weg zur Schule mit dem Bus bestreiten. Die Busse sind täglich in rund 1.800 Gemeinden unterwegs und sorgen damit für öffentliche Verbindungen: im ländlichen Raum bis in die entlegensten Winkel Österreichs. Postbus ist eine wesentliche Säule, wenn es um Daseinsvorsorge am Land geht und ist der langjährige und vertrauensvolle Partner von Gemeinden.

Postbus: Ein starker Partner im öffentlichen Verkehr

Der regionale, öffentliche Buslinienverkehr ist unser Kerngeschäft. Im Auftrag der lokalen Aufgabenträger - das sind die Verkehrsverbünde und Gemeinden in ganz Österreich - bieten wir die optimale Lösung vom klassischen Linienbus bis zum flexiblen Rufbussystem.

Seit 2013 wird der regionale Buslinienverkehr in der Regel von den lokalen Aufgabenträgern ausgeschrieben. Diese zeichnen sich verantwortlich für Verkehrsplanung, Leistungsbestellung und Tarifgestaltung. Den Zuschlag erhält das bestbietende Busunternehmen, entscheidend sind hier neben dem Preis unterschiedliche Qualitätskriterien. ÖBB-Postbus nimmt an diesen Ausschreibungen teil und überzeugt die Verbünde regelmäßig dank der jahrelangen Erfahrung, des umfassenden Knowhows, sowie der hohen Kompetenz und Verlässlichkeit unserer Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter im Betrieb von regionalen Buslinienverkehren.

Unser Plus:

  • langjährige Erfahrung im Fahrgasttransport - Postbus ist bereits seit über 110 Jahren auf Österreichs Straßen unterwegs
  • zuverlässig in jedem Terrain vom Neusiedlersee bis zu den schneebedeckten Alpenpässen
  • top-geschultes Lenkpersonal, durch das ISO-zertifizierte Postbus-Bildungszentrum
  • moderne und klimatisierte Busse nach den Vorgaben unserer Auftraggeber
  • Innovationstreiber am österreichischen Busmarkt
  • uvm.

Postbus ist österreichweit im Einsatz für unsere Kundinnen und Kunden

Aktuell betreibt ÖBB Postbus rund 800 regionale Linienverkehre in Österreich. Die Busse halten an etwa 21.200 Haltestellen in ganz Österreich. In mehr als einem Drittel der versorgten Gemeinden in Österreich sind Postbusse die einzigen öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel. Aktuell liegt der Marktanteil von ÖBB Postbus am regionalen Buslinienverkehr in Österreich bei etwa 45%.

Aktuelle Informationen zu Ausschreibungen von Postbus

Jährlich nimmt Postbus an rund 50 Ausschreibungen zum regionalen Buslinienverkehr in Österreich teil. Hier finden Sie Infos zu aktuellen Ausschreibungsgewinnen von ÖBB Postbus: