Kinder im ÖBB Postbus

Sustainability

Making bus travel greener.
For us. For our children. And grandchildren.

The climate crisis is the challenge of today's generation. The dramatic heating of the earth threatens our future and that of our children. It's good if each and every one of us knows what needs to be done. And how we can act today for a greener tomorrow.

With the Postbus, each of us can protect the climate today. 365 days a year. From early morning to late at night. Postbus lines are the lifelines of public mobility - throughout Austria, especially in rural areas, in communities where the Postbus is often the only means of public transport. And also everywhere where there are no tracks. 

After all, bus travel is indisputably the most environmentally friendly form of mobility, along with rail travel, compared to flying and driving. And thus the greatest lever for reducing CO₂ emissions in the transport sector for tomorrow and achieving climate targets.

Riding the bus is climate protection in practice

With one of the most modern bus fleets in the country, the introduction of battery-powered electric buses into regular operation, the use of Austria's first five hydrogen buses in intercity transport in the Villach-Land region from December 2022, as well as ongoing tests of alternative drives, but also training of our drivers and many other measures, Postbus is doing everything it can to make bus transport more attractive and greener. After all, the goal is to inspire as many people as possible to switch from cars to public transport. After all, taking the bus means avoiding traffic jams and creating more green space in cities and communities. 

According to figures from the Austrian Federal Environment Agency, a passenger car causes around 4 times as much CO₂ emissions per passenger kilometer as a public bus with a EuroNorm 6 engine. The climate loves bus drivers. And yet, everything Postbus does, we do not do for the climate, but for the people. For us. For our children. And grandchildren.

Sustainable drives at Postbus

Would you like to learn more about the latest developments regarding our innovations and progress in alternative drives?

Kinder im ÖBB Postbus

Nachhaltigkeit

Busfahren grüner machen.
Für uns. Unsere Kinder. Und Enkelkinder.

Die Klimakrise ist die Herausforderung der heutigen Generation. Die dramatische Erhitzung der Erde bedroht unsere Zukunft und die unserer Kinder. Gut, wenn jede:r von uns weiß, was zu tun ist. Und wie wir bereits heute für ein grüneres Morgen handeln können. 

Mit dem Postbus kann jede:r von uns schon heute das Klima schützen. 365 Tage im Jahr. Von früh bis spät. Die Postbuslinien sind die Lebensadern der öffentlichen Mobilität - in ganz Österreich, vor allem auf dem Land, in Gemeinden, wo der Postbus oft das einzige öffentliche Verkehrsmittel ist. Und auch überall dort, wo es keine Gleise gibt. 

Denn Busfahren ist neben Bahnfahren im Vergleich zum Fliegen und Autofahren unumstritten die umweltfreundlichste Form der Mobilität. Und damit der größte Hebel, um die CO₂ Emissionen im Verkehrssektor für morgen zu senken und die Klimaziele zu erreichen.

Busfahren ist praktizierter Klimaschutz

Mit einer der modernsten Busflotten des Landes, die Einführung batteriebetriebener Elektrobusse in den Regelbetrieb, der Einsatz Österreichs erster fünf Wasserstoffbusse im Überlandverkehr in der Region Villach-Land ab Dezember 2022 sowie laufenden Tests alternativer Antriebe, aber auch Schulungen unserer Lenker:innen und vielen weiteren Maßnahmen, setzt Postbus alles daran, den Busverkehr attraktiv und grüner zu machen. Denn Ziel ist es, möglichst viele Menschen zum Umstieg vom Auto auf den öffentlichen Verkehr zu begeistern. Denn Busfahren heißt Staus vermeiden und mehr Grünraum in Städten und Gemeinden schaffen. 

Laut den Zahlen des Österreichischen Umweltbundesamtes verursacht ein Pkw pro Personenkilometer rund 4 mal so viel CO₂ Emissionen, wie ein Linienbus mit einem EuroNorm 6 Motor. Das Klima liebt Busfahrer:innen. Und trotzdem, alles was Postbus macht, machen wir nicht für das Klima, sondern für die Menschen. für uns. Unsere Kinder. Und Enkelkinder.

Nachhaltige Antriebe bei Postbus

Sie wollen mehr über aktuelle Entwicklungen zu unseren Innovationen und zu den Fortschritten bei alternativen Antrieben erfahren?