E-Bus Sujet

E-mobility

Electric power into the future - e-buses at Postbus

Electric power into the future - e-buses at Postbus

ÖBB-Postbus is the largest bus company in Austria. With this in mind, we are always working towards providing innovative solutions to questions of public mobility. With children making up the largest part of our passengers, we attach particular importance to taking responsibility for future generations. In the interest of climate protection, Postbus is increasingly focusing on alternative drive technologies as a means of contributing to cutting CO₂ emissions in Austria.

Battery powered e-buses have advantages for passenger and the environment

In terms of drive technologies, buses with battery-powered electric motors are a possible alternative to those with diesel engines. Buses using this technology are charged overnight and their current range means that they can be used for scheduled daytime services on a single charge without any issues. When compared to diesel buses, each 12-metre e-bus saves more than 110 tonnes of CO₂ per year. But the e-drive not only avoids pollutants such as particulates, nitrogen oxides and sulphur dioxides, it is significantly quieter, too. The result: in addition to an environmentally friendly journey, passengers, drivers and people living along bus routes are less affected by noise. There is another advantage with the braking system: the electric motors act as generators while braking and are able to feed energy back to the batteries.

News

We are working with transport associations, the federal provinces and the municipalities in promoting future technologies in bus transport. The switch from diesel engines to alternative drive systems requires strong partnerships like those we have with the province of Vorarlberg, the towns of Judenburg and Wolfsberg on the one hand and start-up financing on the other. ÖBB-Postbus is always looking to make the implementation of projects and future models a reality.

Vorarlberg is focusing on e-mobility for buses

Vorarlberg’s transport association and ÖBB-Postbus have already been working towards using electric intercity buses for scheduled services for years. The first four e-buses joined the fleet in February 2020, paving the way for even more environmentally friendly mobility in Vorarlberg. The 12-metre-long electric buses with a range of up to 290 kilometres per charge are unique in Austria. The e-buses powered by renewable energy are true climate heroes. Over their lifetime, each of the buses will save about 90% of CO₂ emissions when compared to a diesel bus. A big win both in terms of environmental protection and transport in Vorarlberg!

Electric city bus in regular operation in Judenburg

A completely silent and emissions-free electric bus has been plying the lanes of Judenburg in Styria since September 2019, saving 23 tonnes of CO₂ a year. In addition, the bus is equipped with solar panels to ensure that the air conditioning system, for example, does not negatively impact the battery and the operation of the vehicle.

Electric city bus in Wolfsberg: a quiet ride with zero emissions

The municipality of Wolfsberg has also been playing a pioneering role in Carinthia since June 2020, when the city became home to a Postbus electric city bus. As in Judenburg, this saves around 23 tonnes of CO₂ emissions a year. With this vehicle, Wolfsberg and Postbus are together leading the way when it comes to emissions-free and quiet city traffic and thus climate protection.

E-Bus Sujet

E-Mobilität

E-Busse bei Postbus

Mit elektrischer Kraft in die Zukunft - E-Busse bei Postbus

ÖBB-Postbus ist das größte Busunternehmen in Österreich. Als solches streben wir stets innovative Lösungen für Fragen der öffentlichen Mobilität an. Ein Großteil unsere Fahrgäste sind Kinder, darum ist es uns besonders wichtig auch Verantwortung gegenüber den kommenden Generationen zu übernehmen. Im Sinne des Klimaschutzes setzt Postbus vermehrt auf alternative Antriebstechnologien und trägt somit zur Reduktion von CO2-Ausstößen in Österreich bei.

Batteriebetriebene E-Busse mit Vorteilen für Umwelt und Fahrgäste

Eine mögliche Alternative bei Antriebstechnologien gegenüber Dieselbussen stellen batteriebetriebene E-Motoren dar. Bei dieser Technologie werden die Busse über Nacht geladen und können mit den derzeitigen Tages-Reichweiten problemlos im Überland-Linienbetrieb eingesetzt werden. Pro eingesetztem 12 Meter E-Bus können dabei mehr als 110 Tonnen CO2 pro Jahr im Vergleich zu Dieselbussen eingespart werden. Aber der E-Antrieb ist nicht nur frei von Schadstoffen wie Feinstaub, Stickoxiden oder Schwefeldioxiden, er ist auch deutlich leiser. Das bedeutet neben einer klimaschonenden Fahrt auch eine geringere Lärmbelastung für Fahrgäste, Lenkerinnen und Lenker sowie Anrainerinnen und Anrainer der Busstrecken. Einen weiteren Vorzug birgt das Bremsen: Die Elektromotoren wirken beim Bremsen als Generatoren und geben so Energie zurück an die Akkus.

Aktuelles

Den Weg der Zukunftstechnologien im Busverkehr gehen wir gemeinsam mit den Verkehrsverbünden, den Ländern und den Gemeinden. Für den Umstieg von Dieselantrieben auf alternative Antriebe braucht es einerseits starke Partnerschaften wie mit dem Land Vorarlberg, der Stadt Judenburg sowie Wolfsberg und andererseits eine Anschubfinanzierung. ÖBB-Postbus steht für die Umsetzung von Projekten und Zukunftsmodellen jederzeit bereit.

Vorarlberg setzt auf E-Mobilität bei Bussen

Bereits seit Jahren setzt sich der Vorarlberger Verkehrsverbund gemeinsam mit ÖBB-Postbus für den Einsatz elektrischer Überlandbusse im Linienbetrieb ein. Im Februar 2020 gingen die ersten vier E-Busse in den Regelbetrieb. Das war der Startschuss für noch umweltfreundlichere Mobilität in Vorarlberg. Die 12 Meter langen Elektrobusse mit bis zu 290 Kilometern Reichweite pro Ladung sind bisher österreichweit einzigartig. Die mit Ökostrom betriebenen E-Busse sind wahre Klimahelden. Denn jeder der Busse spart dabei über seine Lebenszeit ca. 90% des CO2 im Vergleich zu einem herkömmlichen Dieselbus. Ein großes Plus für den Klimaschutz und den Vorarlberger Verkehr!

Elektro-Citybus in Judenburg im Regelbetrieb

In den Gassen von Judenburg, Steiermark, ist seit September 2019 ein Elektro-Citybus unterwegs - und das völlig leise und emissionslos. So werden jährlich 23 Tonnen CO2 eingespart. Darüber hinaus sind auf diesem Fahrzeug Solarpanele installiert, die dafür sorgen, dass sich etwa die Klimaanlage nicht negativ auf die Batterie und damit auf den Fahrtbetrieb auswirkt.

Elektro-Citybus in Wolfsberg 100% emissionsfrei und geräuscharm unterwegs

Seit Juni 2020 nimmt auch die Stadtgemeinde Wolfsberg eine Vorreiter-Rolle in Kärnten ein. Denn auch hier ist ein Elektro-Citybus von Postbus unterwegs. Wie auch in Judenburg können dadurch jährlich rund 23 Tonnen CO2 eingespart werden. Mit diesem Fahrzeug setzen Wolfsberg gemeinsam mit Postbus ein Zeichen für emissionsfreien sowie leisen Stadtverkehr und damit für den Klimaschutz.